Theoden helm progress

Hello all, hope everyone is well!!

I haven't posted here for a while, busy working and all! I've been lurking every few days, got to keep up with current affairs here!

finally found some time to make some progress on my Theoden helm, pulled a rough cast for painting tests ....

any tips/thoughts appreciated!
11882284_10153196342743049_5505031101677246344_o.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Re: Theoden helm progress

Thanks for the feedback, great to hear the opinions of other enthusiasts!

I did indeed sculpt/make it myself (I work in film for a living so I can't quite claim to not have a little background knowledge of this sort of stuff :coolsmile )
based it around a polystyrene head, and spent the odd weekend over the past year creating the master. Still need to get around to sculpting the cheek plates/crest details
IMG_9180.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Impressive work. I'm re-doing the crest pieces for mine as well as the details arn't as accurate as I would like. Would you mine sharing the paint and colors you have used as I think they are really close to the photos I have. I was planing on just using Rub'n'buff gold and silver.

Thanks! I haven't finalised how I'll paint these yet, but so far it is as follows:

Undercoat
Montana Black - Gold spray all over
Curator ageing fluid (black) - washed all over
Rustoleum acrylic paint 'Pewter' - for the steel parts
Games Workshop 'Boltgun Metal' - stippled over the top
Rustoleum 'Old Penny Copper' for the copper parts
rub'n'buff black stippled/buffed around edges (diluted with renaissance wax)
Gold areas highlighted with rub'n'buff gold

That's it so far!